ICMM is a self-supporting members organisation. Each Full Member museum has one vote in any matter that may come before the general assembly which meets at each biennial Congress.

    ICMM is governed by a President, Vice-President, and Executive Council. These officers serve two-year terms; they are nominated and elected by delegates representing Full Member museums at each biennial Congress. In addition, a Secretary General and Treasurer are appointed by the Executive Council for a two-year term.

    ICMM Standing Committees address specific issues of administration and international affairs, such as membership, ship preservation and archaeology. All Full Member museums are equally eligible to be represented on committees and to hold executive office.

    The ICMM Constitution is available by clicking here.

    ICMM Full Member museums appoint their own Congress delegates, with no specific limit on the number of representatives an institution may send to a biennial Congress.

    You are invited to join this international group of member museums. Please visit the 'ICMM Membership' page for details.


    ICMM Officers and Executive Council Members

    At the 2013 ICMM Congress, members elected the following Executive Council Members:

    President: Kevin Fewster, Director, Royal Museums Greenwich, UK
    Vice-President: Stephen C White, President, Mystic Seaport, Connecticut, USA
    Secretary General: Henk Dessens, Het Scheepvaartmuseum, Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Hon Treasurer: Marieke van Bommel, Maritiem Museum, Roterdam, the Netherlands
    Elected Members:

    Robert Domzal, Polish Maritime Museum, Poland

    Alan Edenborough, Sydney Heritage Fleet, Australia

    Cristian del Real Perez, Museo Maritimo Nacional, Valparaiso, Chile

    Kevin Sumption, Australian National Maritime Museum, Sydney, Australia

    Ursula Warnke, The National Maritime Museum of Germany, Bremerhaven, Germany

    Richard Wesley, Hong Kong Maritime Museum, Hong Kong

    David Wright, Royal New Zealand Navy Museum, Auckland, New Zealand

    Co-opted Members:

    Nigel Rigby, Royal Museums Greenwich, UK

    Maja Wolny, Nationaal Visserijmuseum, Oostduinkerke, Belgium

    Marika Hedin, Vasa Museum, Stockholm, Sweden